The Haka Party Incident

By Katie Wolfe

28 JUL - 15 AUG 2020 — Drama

About.

Company

Auckland Theatre Company

Venue

Q Theatre, Rangatira

Duration

1 hour 30 mins, no interval

Restrictions

None

The last New Zealand war took place in Auckland in 1979. It lasted three minutes.

There’s a long rich history of Māori resistance in New Zealand, but for every Bastion Point or Ihumātao that makes headlines, other incidents quickly fade into the mists of history.

The Haka Party Incident resurrects the eventful day when a group of University of Auckland engineering students rehearsing their annual tradition of a mock haka are confronted by the activist group, He Taua. Violence erupted that sent ripples through the nation and changed race relations in New Zealand forever.

Crafted by filmmaker and theatre director Katie Wolfe (Rendered, Anahera, Waru), The Haka Party Incident combines documentary and stagecraft to thrilling effect. Provocative, resonant and unforgettable, The Haka Party Incident is a not-to-be-missed theatre event.

"Director Katie Wolfe and her cast have ensured the inescapable truths are honoured with compelling integrity." Theatreview 

The Haka Party Incident was proudly developed with the support of Auckland Theatre Company.

Cast

Ana Scotney

Neenah Dekkers-Reihana

Creatives

Katie Wolfe

Direction

Jane Hakaraia

Set Design

Dates &
Times.

Tue 28 Jul 7:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Wed 29 Jul 7:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Thu 30 Jul 7:00 PM Opening Night - Not Currently Available

Fri 31 Jul 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 1 Aug 2:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 1 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 2 Aug 4:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 4 Aug 7:00 PM Youth Forum

Buy Tickets

Wed 5 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 6 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 7 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 8 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 9 Aug 4:00 PM Touch Tour

Buy Tickets

Tue 11 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Wed 12 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 13 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 14 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 15 Aug 2:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 15 Aug 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Special Events

Backstage Story

Discover the world behind the curtain, find out what takes place in the rehearsal room at these behind-the-scenes talks with the director, designers, and cast of each show.

Auckland Theatre Company Studios
487 Dominion Rd, Mount Eden
Carpark & entry off Brixton Road

Monday, 20 July, 6:30pm