The Kensington Swan season of

Nell Gwynn

By Jessica Swale

15 AUG - 30 AUG 2017 — Comedy

About.

Company

Auckland Theatre Company

Venue

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Duration

Restrictions

None

LONDON, 1660. The drab, grey Puritans have gone and theatre is all the rage once more. There's a new fad for putting a woman, an 'actor-ess', on the stage and when The King's Company at Drury Lane casts the pretty, witty orange seller Nell Gwynn as its first leading lady, its royal patron, Charles II, is immediately smitten. Having captured the heart of her King, the unlikely heroine takes her country by storm and becomes a 17th century media sensation.

Winner of the 2016 Olivier Award for Best New Comedy, Jessica Swale's brilliant and bodacious new work about theatre's most legendary love affair is a love-letter to theatre itself and the cheerful chaos involved in putting on a play. Hot on the heels of its original Globe Theatre premiere and successful West End remount, Nell Gwynn is a radiant, ravishing and rollicking celebration of history and the heart.

Dates &
Times.

Tue 15 Aug 7:00 PM

Wed 16 Aug 7:00 PM

Thu 17 Aug 8:00 PM

Fri 18 Aug 8:00 PM

Sat 19 Aug 8:00 PM

Tue 22 Aug 7:00 PM

Wed 23 Aug 7:00 PM

Thu 24 Aug 8:00 PM

Fri 25 Aug 8:00 PM

Sat 26 Aug 2:00 PM

Sat 26 Aug 8:00 PM

Sun 27 Aug 4:00 PM

Tue 29 Aug 7:00 PM

Wed 30 Aug 7:00 PM

Tickets.

Preview - 2 Reserves $30 - $57

Premiere - 2 Reserves $30 - $59

Standard - 2 Reserves $30 - $79

Special Events.

Backstage Story

Monday 24 July 6:30pm at the Auckland Theatre Company studios, 487 Dominion Road Balmoral

Find out more

Girls' Night Out

Friday 25 August, 7pm | An extra special night out at the theatre with the girls. With a Girls' Night Out ticket you will receive a ticket to the Kensington Swan season of Nell Gwynn in the Circle (held exclusively for Girls' Night Out), a glass of Villa Maria bubbly, a goodie bag, an ice cream, a show programme, and the chance to win spot prizes before the show.

Eat/Talk/Play.

Sunday 27 August 3pm in the Villa Maria Gallery, Level 3 ASB Waterfront Theatre. Cost is $15 and includes a glass of wine, a tea or coffee, a selection of cafe treats, and a talk from a theatre expert.

Pre-Book your Car Park.

By exclusive arrangement with ASB, you can pre-book your car park in the Hamer St car park. For only $8 and a short walk to the theatre, the Hamer St car park is the stress free way the travel to the ASB Waterfront Theatre.