A co-production with Prayas Theatre

A Fine Balance

Adapted by Sudha Bhuchar and Kristine Landon-Smith. Based on the novel by Rohinton Mistry.

14 JUN - 6 JUL 2019 — Theatre

About.

Company

Auckland Theatre Company

Venue

Q Theatre

Duration

Restrictions

TBC

"A magnificent piece of storytelling" - The Guardian

In 1975, a struggling Parsi widow, determined to keep her independence, sets up shop in a tiny apartment, hiring two Hindu tailors and taking on a boarder to make ends meet. From this unlikely gathering of strangers, an accidental family forms, each member fleeing the bondage of their past while creating rich – yet perilous – new bonds over their shared experience of a country in political flux.

Based on Rohinton Mistry’s celebrated, Booker-shortlisted novel, A Fine Balance is a sweeping panorama of India’s tumultuous State of Emergency, punctuated with breathtaking moments of human compassion, spirit and heroism.

A monumental saga of ordinary people resilient through extraordinary change, this vibrant and thought-provoking play sees history come to life – and the stories of the voiceless resonate more powerfully than ever. Don’t miss this epic theatre event.

Prayas, Aotearoa's leading South Asian theatre company, is committed to promoting South Asian talent. We are excited to reach out to a new audience by presenting alongside Auckland Theatre Company this enduring tale of the human spirit in an inhuman state.

Dates &
Times.

Fri 14 Jun 8:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Sat 15 Jun 8:00 PM Opening Night - No Tickets Currently Available

Mon 17 Jun 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 18 Jun 6:30 PM Ambassador Forum

Buy Tickets

Wed 19 Jun 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 20 Jun 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 21 Jun 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 22 Jun 2:00 PM Matinee

Buy Tickets

Sat 22 Jun 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 23 Jun 4:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 25 Jun 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Wed 26 Jun 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 27 Jun 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 28 Jun 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 29 Jun 2:00 PM Matinee

Buy Tickets

Sat 29 Jun 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 30 Jun 4:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 2 Jul 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Wed 3 Jul 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 4 Jul 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 5 Jul 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 6 Jul 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Backstage Story

Surprise yourself and find out what's happening in the rehearsal room at these fascinating behind-the-scenes talks with the director, designers and cast. Learn everything you need to know about the show before you go!

Mon 27 May - 6:30 p.m.

FREE - ATC Studios, 487 Dominion Rd, Balmoral (Carpark & entry off Brixton Road)

MORE INFO

Book: A Fine Balance

Set in the mid-1970s in India, A Fine Balance tells the story of four unlikely people whose lives come together during a time of political turmoil soon after the government declares a 'State of Internal Emergency'. Through days of bleakness and hope, their circumstances - and their fates - become inextricably linked in ways no one could have foreseen.

BUY THE BOOK