A co-production with Te Rēhia Theatre Company in association with Auckland Arts Festival

Astroman

By Albert Belz

16 MAR - 6 APR 2019 — Theatre

About.

Company

Auckland Theatre Company

Venue

Q Theatre

Duration

Restrictions

Contains Strong language. Recommended for ages 13+.

It’s 1983 and it’s on like Donkey Kong! Young Hemi ‘Jimmy’ Te Rehua is the king of the Whakatāne Astrocade Amusement Parlour. But while there’s no limit to his domination of the Pac-Man and Galaga high-score charts, this boy genius hasn’t yet worked out how to beat the game of life. With the help of the Astrocade’s grouchy owner and his plucky mum, Jimmy learns how to stand up to bullies and what it really means to be brave.

Charming and hilarious, this heart-warming throwback to the decade of Poi E, Michael Jackson and spacies arcades oozes sweet '80s nostalgia and the good old times of growing up in small-town Aotearoa.

In the spirit of classic coming-of-age tales Stand By Me and BoyAstroman’s touching Kiwiana story of family, friendship and courage will have you reaching for the stars. A fun-filled retro comedy for the young and young-at-heart.

Te Rēhia Theatre Company - honouring and celebrating Te Ao Māori through contemporary theatre. We champion Māori playwrights, tikanga Māori arts practice, te reo Māori and our diverse stories on stage, nationally, and internationally.

Having worked with Albert Belz on many notable productions, we are super excited to bring Astroman to the stage in this unique partnership with Auckland Theatre Company.

Dates &
Times.

Sat 16 Mar 8:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Sun 17 Mar 4:00 PM Opening Night

Buy Tickets

Tue 19 Mar 6:30 PM Ambassador Forum

Buy Tickets

Wed 20 Mar 6:30 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 21 Mar 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 22 Mar 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 23 Mar 2:00 PM Matinee

Buy Tickets

Sat 23 Mar 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 24 Mar 4:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 26 Mar 6:30 PM

Wed 27 Mar 6:30 PM

Thu 28 Mar 8:00 PM

Fri 29 Mar 8:00 PM

Sat 30 Mar 2:00 PM Matinee

Sat 30 Mar 8:00 PM

Sun 31 Mar 4:00 PM

Tue 2 Apr 6:30 PM

Wed 3 Apr 6:30 PM

Thu 4 Apr 8:00 PM

Fri 5 Apr 8:00 PM

Sat 6 Apr 8:00 PM

Subscribe

 

Sign up to four or more 2019 shows to become an ATC subscriber and receive exclusive discounts, benefits and special offers to ATC's end-of-year show-stopper, the ASB season of Shortland Street - The Musical, and other shows at the ASB Waterfront Theatre.

Subscribe