ASB season of

The Audience

By Peter Morgan

8 MAY - 23 MAY 2019 — Theatre

About.

Company

Auckland Theatre Company

Venue

ASB Waterfront Theatre

Duration

Restrictions

None

Deep inside Buckingham Palace, Queen Elizabeth II has held an ‘audience’ – a weekly one-on-one meeting with her prime minister – since 1952. These conversations, bound by a contract of silence, have never been recorded or disclosed.

From Peter Morgan, screenwriter of The Queen and creator of Netflix’s The Crown, this electrifying play boldly imagines what is spoken behind closed doors. Face to face with the likes of Churchill, Thatcher and Cameron, we witness the Queen acting as confidante and sounding board, but also holding her own in discussions of explosive passion and candour, all the while sharing her intimate fears and desires across six decades of rule.

Get up close and personal with this magnificent role, first performed by Helen Mirren and now our own theatre royalty, Theresa Healey, alongside a who’s who of political game changers, in an international stage sensation where being part of the audience is a privileged position.

Dates &
Times.

Wed 8 May 7:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Thu 9 May 8:00 PM Preview

Buy Tickets

Fri 10 May 8:00 PM Opening Night

Buy Tickets

Sat 11 May 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Tue 14 May 7:00 PM Ambassador Forum

Buy Tickets

Wed 15 May 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 16 May 1:00 PM Matinee

Buy Tickets

Thu 16 May 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Fri 17 May 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sat 18 May 2:00 PM Matinee

Buy Tickets

Sat 18 May 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Sun 19 May 4:00 PM EAT/TALK/PLAY

Buy Tickets

Tue 21 May 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Wed 22 May 7:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Thu 23 May 8:00 PM

Buy Tickets

Special Event

Backstage Story

Surprise yourself and find out what's happening in the rehearsal room at these fascinating behind-the-scenes talks with the director, designers and cast. Learn everything you need to know about the show before you go!

Tues 23 Apr - 6:30 p.m.

FREE - ATC Studios, 487 Dominion Rd, Balmoral (Carpark & entry off Brixton Road)

EAT/TALK/PLAY

Eat/Talk/Play is a pre-show event that gives you a deeper insight about the show you are about to see. Held in the ASB Waterfront Theatre's Villa Maria Gallery, Eat/Talk/Play is the perfect pre-show event that will enrich your theatre-going experience.

Sun 19 May, 2:45pm

FREE - ATC Studios, 487 Dominion Rd, Balmoral (Carpark & entry off Brixton Road)