Acts of Imagination

The Acts of Imagination programme includes school matinees of our productions scheduled especially for students during the school term. Productions are selected from our 2022 season for their suitability to the classroom and curriculum-related content.

Booking Worksheet
Booking Request Form

2022 Schedule

Lysander's Aunty

by Ralph McCubbin Howell
(NZ Theatre, Comedy)

  • Teachers Workshop
    Mon 28 Feb, 2–5pm
  • Youth Night
    Tue 22 Mar, 7pm
  • School Matinees
    Thu 24 Mar and Thu 31 Mar, 11am
  • In-School Workshops
    Thu 17 Mar to Thu 7 Apr

BOOK NOW

Show Details

Witi's Wāhine

by Nancy Brunning
(NZ Theatre) 

  • Teachers Workshop
    Tue 3 May, 2 – 5pm
  • Youth Night
    Tue 17 May, 7pm
  • School Matinees
    Thu 19 May, Tue 24 May, 11am
  • In School Workshops
    Mon 10 May to Fri 27 May

BOOK NOW

Show Details

Scenes from a Yellow Peril

by Nathan Joe
(Contemporary Theatre, NZ Theatre, Performance Poetry)

 

  • Teachers Workshop
    Tue 7 Jun, 2–5pm
  • Youth Night
    Tue 28 Jun, 7pm
  • School Performances
    Tue 21 Jun and Wed 22 Jun, 7pm
  • In-School Workshops
    Mon 13 Jun to Fri 1 Jul

BOOK NOW

Show Details

Dawn Raids

Oscar Kightley
(NZ Theatre) 

 

  • Teachers Workshop
    Mon 1 Aug, 2–5pm
  • Youth Night
    Tue 23 Aug, 7pm
  • School Matinees
    Thu 25 Aug, Tue 30 Aug and Thu 1 Sep, 11am
  • In-School Workshops
    Mon 15 Aug to Fri 2 Sep

BOOK NOW

Show Details
  • After each Acts of Imagination performance there is a Q&A Forum with selected cast members. Teachers’ Workshops take place at our rehearsal studios and online. Student workshops take place in school with students who are attending a performance.

  • You can also add tailor-made student and teacher workshops to your package.

  • Schools can also make group bookings to our Youth Night performances - on the first Tuesday of each season for all ATC productions including plays that are not in the Acts of Imagination programme. School group tickets for Youth Night performances are the same price as school matinee tickets.

Workshops

Teacher Workshops

Teachers’ Workshops take place in the rehearsal room at the Auckland Theatre Company studios on Dominion Road. Find out more about each play and work alongside our teaching artists to unpack the play for your students. Includes light refreshments and a complimentary ticket to a preview performance, so you can see the play before you bring your students to the theatre.

Student Workshops

Student workshops take place in school with students who are attending a performance. 50 minutes in duration, designed to fit into your timetable. We provide pre and post show workshops. Each workshop upon builds upon the other, and you can book one or both sessions.

Make a Booking

How to book to an Acts of Imagination School Matinee.

Make a Booking

Visiting the Theatre

How to find us and arrive to the theatre with your school.

Visiting the Theatre

Resources

We offer free education resources for our Acts of Imagination productions.

View Resources